arttistic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when the offer called..?


Thank you so much for the birthday wishes, guys. This year's birthday was a bit lame. Even my partner forgot about it. Tsk! It's ok. I don't like to be reminded that I'm old. Sooner or later I'd be called a lunatic spinster. ;p


I remember how I have been yakking all the time about getting another job. Today, I am not sure. I was interviewed by a well known public listed company 4 days back and was accepted there within 15 minutes. It seemed that the manager was so impressed by my performance of work and everything was all set.

All I have to do is to relocate to Pasir Gudang.

Whoa.. I mean Pasir Gudang isnt all that bad. I was born and stayed in JB for so many years. I could stay with mimi if I want to. Leaving my dear KL would be a heartbreak. hehehe.. macam la tak boleh balik KL.

My place now has become a rut and I don't want to forever stuck here. To think that I have to leave my mom, friends and my partner sounds bad enough.

Tapi mungkin rezeki kita di tempat lain.

I believe that.

But when I have thought about this and set my mind to shift to Pasir Gudang, I was called by the HR executive, the lovely Pn Ariza, to discuss about the salary.

Ariza:"I have told my manager about your expected salary RMXXXX but I'm afraid we could only give you RMYYYY"
Me:"Huh? That's RM1000 less than what I asked and absolutely lower than my current salary"

My current company is driven by young people. Age does not count. We are trained to be older than our age. Three of my Vice Presidents now age at about 30, 32 and 33 respectively. I made this a point when I called the manager who interviewed and keen on having me there. Obviously, at least in my opinion, the HR people there do� not know what I'm doing or couldn't care less about my little achievements stated in the resume. I was even told that according to my age, aku layak jadi management trainee je. What the ............????!!!Warghh!! Tensionnye!Perlu ke aku dapat tahu semua ni on my own birthday?

So, who cares about my University friends there who just earn around RM2000 per month? I worth more than that. I didnt lose my sleep every night for nothing for the past 2 years. How many 24 year-old engineer have you found doing a RM55 million technically-challenged proposal all by her self?? I started the hard way and I think I deserve every single cent I asked. Not demanding but practical. What a complete mockery to my competency. And think about the transfer and traveling cost. Bukan guna duit ke tu?

So, if they are still interested in having me there, they will negotiate today. The manager who interviewed me shall talk to the HR people.� Until then, my answer will be a solid NO-NO.

Obviously I've been laboring under a misapprehension. What a sad life I am living now.

12:47 p.m. - 2003-05-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kieli
natinski
clov3ry
m-i-m-i
kaezrin
fengh
beq1855
bintangsepi
nectar3103
arien-star
suddenlyalan
darihati
myzephyr
bintangmalam
hamlet99
m00k3
mu5ings
trsk