arttistic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On the cross road

I have no idea why I

I have no idea why I've been neglecting the diary. Perhaps the mood I have been carrying around has been too sour. I hope the decision I made for the past few weeks is taken seriously.

Not so much of a decision , I guess. Options are not there. Basically, there are no choice I could lay upon my eyes and easily choose.

I did resign last week. Despite the foul words that came from the mouth of one the managers, at the back of my mind, I need this. I think I have to find a life.


The minute I stepped in the room, I was speechless, the letter was returned, I felt helpless to say anything. The last resort was to keep quiet as I always did.

Fareh could say anything, but the storm I felt inside me was raging. I chose to shut my damn mouth and felt betrayed by his trust and ability that I have instilled in me for so long.

It seemed, for him, the offer I got from Sime was not a good choice. Not even Petronas as he flatly uttered. Had I been given a place in Talisman or Murphy Oil, he'd definitely let me go. The organization behavior is totally different. I have better prospect here than to settle there in Sime, so I was told. Why would I listen to him knowing that one day I'd be tearing my life apart because I cant stop working. But then, I could be wrong.

I gave Pn Norsiah, ex-boss and good friend, a call. She asked me to go for Sime. To go all the way for it. Management has always something to stay but I being hugely insecure about my future and career development tried to gauge the success from both sides. When Fareh compared me to Izwan, the same age project engineer from Petronas, he concurred that in terms of experience, what I gathered & exposed are far more achievable, reflects a high career move and so much more. Although lack of leadership, to him, my place is not in the places like Sime or Petronas. I deserve more, as he said. He might be right. Coming from Fareh, I believe him but dinosaurs like Petronas has trainings given to the scholars like no other company would do. Those scholars have what I lack in terms of self esteem, leadership and so on. Me, on the other hand, desperately need training to polish up that 'other' skills. I cant control my staffs ( lack of leadership, it supposes), absolutely suck when it comes to dictation (I cant seem to know what I need each time I handle a project).

As of today, the resignation letter was rejected twice. Mr CEO made it a chore seeing me everyday, planting his motivated words into my ears to head straight to my exhausted brain cells. It's processing the result.. fast.  All the words have a principle root spells "DON'T QUIT". Fareh apparently took time praising me.. gestured some soothing words very deliberately systematic , projecting his capability of persuading. Oh.. they are really good at it. Or are they trying too hard? I don't know.

Let's put it this way..

STAY

GO

Pros

Cons

Pros

Cons

  • Small, developing, sizeable company
  • I get to further my Master's Degree in Construction (Project) Management.
  • I have a GOOD prospect of becoming a manager in the next 2 years. I can run my way up there even though with less experience but more towards being seen with capabilities and skills.
  • Abundant opportunities as the company will definitely grow. Only that I have to be the apple of me boss eyes. Hmm..
  • I get to learn everything from scratch. I learn how to take charge and basically know what to do
  • If I know how to kipas the boss, the salary is wayyyyyy damn good. Ok, I have to be good as well (this comes first).
  • Of all the hard works and cons I have gone through, I will have to say that I am thankful because it made me more mature and stronger.
  • I have an option of becoming a businesswoman ultimately, but it means no staying in Project Management team. I kinda have to.
  • I get to be closer to my partner and won't leave my mother alone.
  • Less political chaos only facing bitchy woman somewhere here. Hehehe..

 

 

  • I will work till the end of the universe. I probably wont get married.
  • I wont get involve full time in mega million projects or even stay in a team. I don't get the exposure I want.
  • No courses or training will be provided. Self taught applied. If somebody kicked you and you fell, trial-and-error run shall be at function or you die.
  • I HAVE (or be forced)  to learn everything from scratch. Everything has to be done the hard way. Bad start as there is no comfort for an on and off self starter like I am.
  • No direct up-liner a.k.a mentor or somebody who can give me solutions. Somebody who does whatever I do. Practically, I work ALONE and it really sucks. I'm so tired of this.
  • The claims suck... so does the salary. I don't know how to kipas the boss like some scheming-two faces- bitches here. Should probably polish on that skill.
  • Ada discrimination ke? Ini my boss kena jawab. I wanna keep quiet. Hehehe..
  • I have to design the darn tank. Warghhh!!!
  • BIG Company
  • Excellent trainings. Good God.. they even teach you how to be a manager, how to talk, to eat, to dress up and to handle simple things.
  • Travel! Travel! Travel! Not frequent but to significant places. Paris.. London..Argentina.. yeah..as though I like so much traveling and jet lags..
  • I can goyang kaki.Less work. Less responsibilities. Everything lays comfortably in front of you.
  • More time to do mundane things to my self like reading, shopping, flirting and so on. Other words.. I WILL HAVE A LIFE.
  • Salary for this year is just OK. Nothing fabulous but the damn bonuses could be up to 5 months. Benefits are superb considering the EPF, medication, optical, leaves, loans (car and house). They even interest subsidized the house loan.
  • I will be working in a TEAM though doing the same thing like what I'm doing now. If ever I go, I have full hands of back-ups. No biggie. I cant eventually propose to let them have me involve in project management.
  • I dont have to absorb all the mistakes alone. I can still be irresponsible and point fingers. That's bad, I know but easy life, heh? hmm...
  • And of course, the exposure is more because the there will be teams and the company is BIG.
  • It's in Pasir Gudang.
  • Mommy will get lonely but I know she's OK with it and there's a greater chance of fading relationship with my partner now.
  • Jangan mimpi le nak further study. The course exists only in KL.
  • Desk works apart from traveling.... penat aaa..
  • Too much political chaos between Sime scholars and non Sime scholars. Back stabbing and the rat race is everywhere.
  • Instead of running, I'd be crawling to the top. Becoming a manager there seems impossible since I dont plan to stay there forever.
  • In the next 5 years, I might still stay as an engineer, a senior one perhaps. And I don't want to be an engineer forever.. That is so bored. Yucks! Tak berkembang otak aku. Bosan.. bosan...
  • Haunted by ceo's words.... I am afraid your loss will be greater than our loss if you stay in Sime.
  • I have to work with women.. women... and more women... and I know although I am myself a woman, I wasn't trained to work with one, no matter how I long for a woman to accompany me doing works so we can gossip around and chill out together. I'm too used being brought up working around men and make a fool of myself. Hehe..

 

See, macam mana la nak decide.... Mak konpius laaa..sapa nak tolong?

La.. my boss just told I might have to go to India and Singapore anytime now...

(sighh!) This is life.. and I don't know why do I bother to stick to this crazy job.. I have longed harbor this immense hatred to the smell of airports and flight cabins.. with the total exception of cute male flight attendants..hehe :)

And since I have been discovered by somebody from my company, WHO CONFESSED HE IS THE CEO HIMSELF, you'd better be careful, boy. I know the CEO's elaborated lingo of writing and he'd sure joke around if he knows anything about this journal's existence. Korang tak de keje lain ke?? Tapi kalau betul la Mr CEO himself yang tulis.. tak pela.. it's just a journal...I have the right to write whatsoever things I like. This journal is MINE :P

5:25 p.m. - 2003-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kieli
natinski
clov3ry
m-i-m-i
kaezrin
fengh
beq1855
bintangsepi
nectar3103
arien-star
suddenlyalan
darihati
myzephyr
bintangmalam
hamlet99
m00k3
mu5ings
trsk