arttistic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Far Pavilions

The Far PavilionsIt�s a story of a white man who thought we was an Indian and fell dangerously in love with an Indian princess. I was caught on another land and time when the story brought me far away in the glittering Palace of the Winds to the desert of Rajasthan and from the foothills of the Himalayas to the wonders of exotic India. It was a pulsating reading, enchanting to the end of the story.

M.M. Kaye�s writing was magical. The Far Pavilions by far, is the best book she�s ever written in her long span of 95 years of life.

Around 20 years ago, the adaptation movie screened on tv didn�t mean a thing to my baby eyes. 7 years later, as a young girl, I grew up dreaming that I could be swept away just like it happened to Princess Anjuli. 3 years after that, during my boring boarding school life, I squandered all my saving money when I laid my eyes for the first time to buy the book. I brought back the 1000 pages book, imprinted my name on it and it was officially mine.

But that was 10 years ago. The story is colossal. It still is.

I remember waking up in the morning with a bitter taste in my throat and the words from the novel just lingered there for hours. I remember how I locked my self in my room in my college days, not wanting to face anyone so I can finish the book for the umpteenth times. I also remembered how I ignored everybody during hari raya, making my mom crazy when I couldn�t stop my self from reading it.

The story still make my heart beats fast today.

Today, all I want is to do is to watch the musical This is my only regret for excluding London in my Europe�s trip in 2 weeks.


1:25 p.m. - 2005-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kieli
natinski
clov3ry
m-i-m-i
kaezrin
fengh
beq1855
bintangsepi
nectar3103
arien-star
suddenlyalan
darihati
myzephyr
bintangmalam
hamlet99
m00k3
mu5ings
trsk